22 March 2015 – Love Welwyn Half Marathon

This was the first Love Welwyn Half Marathon, and my First Half Marathon. I say first, it was supposed to be The Only Half Marathon, but as the year unfolded….. read more blogs.

The race started and ended at Gosling Sports Park in Welwyn Garden City. The atmosphere was buzzing.  I ran with 3 people from the livery yard and although by now I had sold my horse, I still went up to the yard to run with them.

Some of the route was along roads I’d run along before but we eventually emerged onto the Cole Green Way.  A disused railway.  Which was great as the terrain was not too hilly and the surface well maintained.

The route was an out-and-back with a loop which kept the interest.  The final mile or so was tough but Rachel kept me going and encouraged me to run up the Chequers hill which then left a downhill stretch and a lap of the Sports Track to the finish line.

Got a medal, t-shirt and water bottle as prizes.

Gun time: 1.57.49. Chip Time 1.56.56. Overall 195/348. Female 53/153. Category FV45 9/19.

Leave a Reply

