28 June 2015 – Welwyn Festival 10k (running anniversary!)

The anniversary of my first ever race.  It had to be done!  Was looking forward to the route and then realised they had changed it.  Ran from Singlers Marsh and UP throught the village and UP Whitehill – now that was a killer.  I walked up Whitehill, there was no way I could have lived to tell the tale had I done anything else.  OK many people ran past me, but by return I trotted back past them when I got to the top.  The route was lovely and well marshalled.

On the route back home was another hill, from Kimpton Bottom UP towards Linces.  Again that was walked until I spotted a photographer at the top so I braved it and ran.

As we entered the marsh, I saw the finish banner – what I had not bargained for was the run around the marsh to the finish line – almost killed me but I sustained the pace and came across the line feeling fab.

Got a nice tshirt

Gun time 52.18. Chip time 52.04. Overall 153/472. Female 25/211. Category FV45 11/51

Leave a Reply

