29 November 2015 – Hatfield 5 mile

Another attempt at the Hatfield 5 mile.  Same starting point and same route.  Some people who I know and a sea of faces that I didn’t.  Rain was forecast but not until after the event – decided to wear not-rain gear and keep fingers crossed.

Ran well, ran hard but suffered towards the end.  Walked a bit as I felt a little nauseous but as it is with these races, fellow competitors and marshals gave me lots of encouragement to move up a gear.  When ‘you’ve got 400 meters to go’ was heard I dug deep and got the energy to gallop across the line.

And as I collected my medal and water bottle it began to rain.

Gun time 38.15. Chip time 38.06. Overall 139/391. Female 38/208. Category W50 4/29.

Leave a Reply

