22 May 2016 – Wheathampstead 10k

Came back again to run this lovely race.  The terrain is offroad with some challenging hills – it is not easy.  But it is immense fun and everyone is so friendly.  The field was mixed with locals as well as club runners.  The day dawned with lovely blue skies and it was quite warm.  Got parked easily and picked up my number.  Had a look around at the stalls and was tempted by the cakes and BBQ.  Plenty of toilets too.

We were given a 10 minute warning to get into the time pens then at 11am we were off.

The route was the same as last year, around the back of a field then up onto the Ayot Greenway which runs from Welwyn to Wheathampstead.  We then veered off there and along the edge of a field.  Hills were ever present and I admit to having to walk.  I’d set off to try and achieve a 50minute finish time but there was no way my ‘long distance legs’ were playing ball with that.  At around 6k I walked up the hill which goes alongside and across a field. I then had a total leg fail just after 8k so I did another little walk.  I finished strong though so the strategy worked.

The support was lovely and I saw a few faces I knew so had a nice chatter to them and waved at others.

Gun time 52.48, Chip time 52.32, Overall 213/566, Female 49/241, Category FV45-54 12/64.

Leave a Reply

